trojanfan

Feb 19, 2006
I have been riding a friends 2002 KDX 220. Bone stock. It does not appear to be torquey. I had a 80s model KDX 250 and it had smooth powerband and torque. This bike seems to chug and then come on the pipe and scream all of a sudden. I find it very difficult to ride in tight stuff and anything slick, loose, or rocky. It might just be me because I am a vet rider just getting back into riding again after 20 years, but other people who have ridden it including some that have owned KDX 200s seem to think it has a strange powerband. The height of the bike also bothers me as I have a short inseam and this just complicates the issue.

I have read a lot about the torquey 220, but this bike doesn't seem to be. Do you think this bike is normal for a 220 or is something up with it. Can this 220 be made to have a more 4 stroke like powerband with the FMF rev pipe, reeds, etc that everyone suggests?

Also, has anyone had experience with the Kouba link #2 on their bike? I understand it lowers the seat height but you only have to slide the forks up until they hit the bars in order to keep the geometry.

I am considering buying this bike, but I am afraid that I may end up having to get a CRF230 for the ride height and powerband if the KDX can't be fixed. Maybe at this point in my riding that is about all I can handle anymore.

Jan 16, 2005
Sounds like the 220 you rode needs to be rejetted or something minor to spread out the power a little better from the bottom. Thinking you will get more out of a crf230 is a big mistake. The 220 has it all over the 230, and you really can't compare the two bikes in my opinion. Get the links if the seat height is a big concern, and if you're still not convinced with the KDX, get a 250 4t

The KDX already comes with a heavier flywheel, you can change the gearing too if you want it to lug more like a four stroke. But why????

adam728

Aug 16, 2004