1205CLUB

Aug 26, 2009
i'm new to the KDX world and just bought a 1992 KDX 250. But the stator is missing which i didnt think would be this hard to find one well that is what i get for thinking as my wife would say!!!!! does anyone have any info. on one or something else i can use i'm not going to be running any lights just riding w/ my kids.
thanks,

1205CLUB

Aug 26, 2009
i found a couple for some older ones and alot for the 200's. do you or anyone know if the older ones will fit a 92 model? i have been looking and cant much info on them, any help would be great.

nearma12

Mar 29, 2009
The KDX250 motor is based on the 88-89 KX250 motor. So, you should be able to use on from a KX of that era. You won't be able to run lights with it, but that's OK since you don't need them. I'm not sure about a KDX200 stator, but I would guess that it will not fit since the engines are completely different. Hope you can find one. The KDX250 is a pretty fun bike.

1205CLUB

Aug 26, 2009
if i have to go with the kx stator would i have to change the CDI box? i know i will have to change the fly wheel. i cant believe it is this hard to find a stator, WOW!
thanks for the help atleast i will be able to get it running now that i know what i need.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
Have you tried calling one of the stator repair shops like ricky stator? Maybe they have some ideas or can set you up.

FWIW, the KDX250 flywheel is quite heavy, which is a nice thing for a trail bike. Putting on a lighter KX flywheel will be a difference you will feel, but maybe it will suit your style more than the KDX heavy flywheel.

1205CLUB

Aug 26, 2009
i tried Ricky's and they said they dont have one. i'm waiting to here back from Jeff Fredette's shop they said that would know more on mon. i can only hope, i really dont want to use the KX fly wheel that is the reason i wanted a KDX. what are other guys doing about this?

Matt90GT

May 3, 2002