Lar

Aug 29, 2000
Hello, I am a newbie. My last bike was a 650 Honda street bike about ten years ago, and I am in the research phase of buying a dirt bike. My questions are: It seems from reading the posts on the KLX 300, many owners do mods to the bike after they purchase. The KX 250F is around 900 dollars more(300 more if one takes advantage of Kawasakis 600 dollar factory to dealer rebate), so are the majority of the KLX mods still keeping the KLX below the cost of a KX?

Thanks for your help, Larry

Vic

***** freak.
LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 5, 2000
No.

stangera

Aug 2, 2004
Those are two completely different bikes! I'd be more concerned about making the right decision on what to buy that will make you happy for the type of riding that you're doing, and less concerned about cost. Maybe get something in between i.e. KDX.

Last year I was debating KLX/KDX. I went KLX because I found the right bike at the right price (spottless and not much money). After a couple weeks I was wishing I had gone with KDX, so I sold the KLX and went straight for the KTM.

gumby1

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 30, 2002
The KLX is a great bike. I've owned about 40 dirt bikes over 34 years and the KLX is my favorite. Easy to start hot or cold, reliable, handles well, good power with a few mods, and easy on gas. It's an outstanding woods bike.

YZjDg125

Sep 18, 2004
Great Bikes Indeed.

My uncle has the 04 KLX 300 and they are LOTS of fun. It was a little heavy compared to my YZ that I ride, but it still handled real well. Once you get that end plate off the exhaust its good to rip.

dcarl

Sep 25, 2002
Lar said: