scott76

Nov 7, 2007
I know this will sound like a weird choice, but bear with me. I have been riding street bikes for over a decade, and roadracing for 4 years. I have very little dirtbike and NO mx experience, but would like to get into it to take advantage of a local indoor MX track to train for the roadrace season. I have no desire to learn to clear a huge double or anything like that, but I would like to get better, and stay in shape in the off-season. I just picked up a used 1998 KLX300r and got it running. It's nice, but feels very tall, heavy and slow. Since I also race a 2005 cr85 on 17" wheels and tires, shod with slicks and lowered, in a mini roadrace club, I was thinking that maybe a rm100 or a kx100 would be a better choice for me to learn on? I like the much lower weight and slightly lower seat height, plus I'm familiar with the power delivery of a small-bore 2-s. I know this is an odd choice, especialy since I'm 31, but I like the feel of the smaller bikes. I would also trail ride this bike very occasionally.

Should I consider selling the KLX to get a 100 two-stroke?

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Why not just get an extra set of wheels for your CR85?

scott76

Nov 7, 2007
Because the suspension is lowered 2 inches and set up for roadracing. It's re-sprung and has completely different valving then it had when it was a motocross bike. It will not absorb any type jump well, and probably will offer very little traction on dirt. I also run clip ons instead of a handle bar, and the handle bar mounts were removed from the triple clamp I'm running.

If it had stock suspension I would've done that for sure.

scott76

Nov 7, 2007
That's what I'm gonna do if the 100 thing doesn't end up working out. I'm sort of a start small and work my way up guy, so I figured a 100 might be better for me to learn basic MX skills on than a 125, but there are sooo many reasonably priced 125s out there I might have to go that route.

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~