chris walsh

Apr 29, 2008
heyy guys, heres my first post!

i have been racing downhill mountain bikes for a couple of years now, and i want to try something new. for me to afford a dirt bike, i will need to sell my moutain bike, which causes this to be a huge decision for me.

im sixteen, 5'7 & 150 pounds.

i've basically narrowed it down to these two bikes, the 08 kawasaki kx100 or the 08 honda crf 230F. i know, two very different bikes. the payments would be the same within a couple of dollars, so price isnt a factor in deciding.

chances are i wont get an oppurtunity to ride this bike on a track, because i live no where near one. i will be riding for long periods of time, through trails, fire roads, jumping.

i am leaning towards the kx, because of it being 100 pounds lighter, having a rear hyraulic disc brake instead of a drum, having an inverted fork, and a wheel size which i think would suit me better. both bikes are very similar in size. on top of this, the kx looks much more appealing.

i could take the crf because of a four stroke being more dependable and capable of long rides without overheating.

i will be riding hard, from trying dirtbikes before and racing mountain bikes i know i will catch on easily, but this will be my first time owning one. the quickness, lightness, and agility of the two stroke interests me much more.

what do you guys think? i really want the kx, but is it capable of long rides without overheating and suitable to this non track riding style?

im sick of people telling me getting a 2 stroke is a mistake without giving me actual reasons not to.

thanks guys! i'm open to any opinions.

jim f.

Mi. Trail Riders
Jul 2, 2005
I own a KX 100, fun bke to ride but I am to big for it stock. I moved handlebars 3in forward and 3in up, also put H.D. springs on it for my weight 185 no gear. It is trail rideable.

chris walsh

Apr 29, 2008
i am going to the shop today to see this bike for the first time, i was waiting for it to be built.