KX125 97 fRIGGIN JUNK! ergg...need help

cnl83

Nov 16, 2005
Ok, I bought a KX125 1997 model. I got this bogging problem, that I talked about in other post, but im going to sum this up. It boggs before the power band kicks in, in any gear. If im at idle and hammer the throttle quickly, it will BOGGG WANNN! If you hammer it on choke it doesnt seem to do it as much.
Things Ive done...

1) Dropped the jetting from 160-150-142 back to 160
2) Moved the needle to position 1-5 and back in the middle.
3) Cleaned the filter
4) Cleaned the Power Valve (not running though)
5) Messed with the air screw
6) Cleaned the jets, cleaned the carb
7) Changed the packing
8) Ran it without the silencer
9) Checked the choke
10) Changed the plug (Showed Tan) im no pro though
11) Changed my mixture to 40:1 (castro 927)
12) Checked the reeds and they are boyesen carbon fiber reeds...good shape.
13)Took it down about 40 times, and im almost in tears with frustration at the moment...

The power is not there, that is soppose to be there. Its bogging, and ticking me off bad! The cycle place I bought it from, says its a relatviely new top end...so I dont know, except go get a darn hammer. I would appreciate any help I could get. Thanks!

p.s. The power valve, should I have been able to move it back and forth with my fingers? Cause I couldnt move it.

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
i could move mine on every bike ive owned , mostly hondas and a couple yammies, not sure of the kawasakis but if i was a betting man...............

QKENUF4U

Nov 13, 2005
so see if it moves while you have the atuator cover off. if its just a plastic/rubber cover bolted to the side of the cylinder then it doesnt do anything but protect the arm etc.from rocks/dirt.
i had the same problem on a KX 125 at the shop i worked at.