Locked Up Temporarily?

biglong350

Jul 14, 2008
So i have this 96 rm 125. i was riding home from my buddys the other day and it died i pulled over to start it and it was locked up. so i pushed it a mile home. got some time and put a little oil down the cylinder and kicked it and broke it free. so i pulled the head off it to check things out. the cylinder wall is missing some of the plating but the piston looks intact. i am going to pull the whole jug off but i was just curious id anyone knew exactly what i should do. i was hoping a piston rings and some replating would do the trick. i am hoping the piston skirt is all together and didnt get in the case. can anyone lead me in the right direction as im a certed auto mechanic but have never really dealt with bikes?!?! email at or just reply on here thanks a lot!

zarak

May 1, 2008
i had the same problem with my sx 125, i had to get a sleeve put it. i took it to the local shop and they ordered a sleeve for 109 and sent it to a machine shop to get bored and installed. i personally had called la sleeve and for 275 including the sleeve they would bore it and evertthing. but then you have to get the new piston and gasket set. ive had mine in for over a month and still not done
hope this helps

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
Have it re-plated. Do a search on Eric Gore, US Chrome, Millinnium plating and a few other places that can re-plate your cylinder back to original. Although it is one way to repair it, you will lose performance if you re-sleeve it with a cast iron sleeve.

biglong350

Jul 14, 2008
yeah but do you think all i need is a replate and piston rings etc? do i have to time anything or is it just unbolt send in get back and re install?

mxbrian199

Jul 15, 2008
get it replated and get a new piston and rings. get it nickle plated it cost more but its worth it.

biglong350

Jul 14, 2008