Looking into a bike, opinions wanted.

csdwarf

Apr 19, 2010
Hey guys, I'm just getting into dirt biking, I can ride on around a field and do pretty well, right now I'm riding my friends old 1988 KDX 200 and its a bit old and i'm looking for a bike.

Im looking into a 1996 kx 125, my friends do woods riding and said they have been starting to get into riding at the pit ( little local motocross track there)

anyway, there is a 1996 kx 125 for sale on craigslist for 350$, it is supposedly good condition except it needs a new piston.

I called the guy and felt it out, he threw the piston away so i wont be able to see it, he claims it didn't have a hole in it and it was "gummed up and the rings were sticky"

He said the cylinder is good and it just needs top end kit and top end bearing, at that point were looking at about 80$ to get the bike up and running.

is this to much of a gamble? what are common problems with these bikes? how are they ect, anything I need to know?

I priced out if worse come to worse case how much it would cost.

Bike - 350
Top end bearing - 10
Piston kit - 75
Full engine gasket kit-55
cranks bearings and seals - 45

That works out to under 550$. but thats assuming the bike is in good condition except the engine.

any opinions wanted

Thanks guys!

mideastrider

~SPONSOR~
Jul 8, 2006
Unless you just have your heart set on a fix'er upper project I would move on to something running.
And $200 in parts is not worse case scenario. Thats best case scenario.
Worst case would be the parts you listed plus a cylinder re-plate and a rod kit. Get all that together and fire her up. Then you will know what gears are gone in the tranny and how bad the clutch is slipping.
Being $350 on craigslist I'm sure the wheel bearings,swingarm bearings and linkage bearings, oh yeah and forks and shock are all like new.
Not to discourage you but thats just a few of the things that can be or will be wrong.

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007