Looking to get a bike...MX or Off-Road?

GixxedSpyder

Oct 5, 2003
I've been riding street bikes for ~7 years, and I'm looking to stay away from the police...hence trying to get a dirt bike. I've trying to figure out which bike to get and I've been seeing some stuff on on/off road bikes. What are the main differences between the two? It would be handy to be able to ride the bike on the road to get to a trail, but what would I be giving up? I'm about 5'9 and 165lbs, what do you guys suggest?

Thanks in advance...

Bet On Red

Aug 11, 2003
well seeing that you ride a gixxer (I'm also a street riding) I'm sure you'll be wanting to hit the jumps and railing out of the turns. The dual purpose bikes arent really for jumping and railing through corners. You already have a street bike so i'd go for a MX bike. I'd say 2 stroke but the 4's are getting better after the hour!

drk98

Mar 30, 2002
Weight.
The main hold back (besides maybe power) between a dual sport and MX'er.
You can always make your bike street legal with a little duck tape....or not.
Please, stay AWAY from the four stroke MX'er!
Get a KX125 if you do track racing.
Get a KDX200 if you do trails or endro.
Get a KX500 if you do desert racing or flat track!

GixxedSpyder

Oct 5, 2003
What year KX125 should I look for? Should I go used? If so, how used? I don't really need anything state of the art, just something enough to take a few jumps and burn out of corners. I'm somewhat mechanically inclined so I don't mind a bike that I might have to do a little extra maintenance.

I sold the gixxer, unfortuanately...twas a sad day.

Thanks!

Mike Hubert

Apr 22, 2001
I agree that the KDX200-220 is a great choice for a do everything bike but you should take a look at the 4 strokes. If you want a pretty fair do everything 4 stroke check out the XR400, if you want to ride MX there are lots of great 4 stroke bikes on the market.

GixxedSpyder

Oct 5, 2003