dmdee99

Apr 24, 2006
I am new to dirtbikes and I have a 2000 rm250. I love the power on it but the bike seems to tall for me. I am 5'5 and I could barely tought the ground on it. I was looking for a lowering link for it and to my knowledge no one makes one. I talked to some shops and they said they could lower it for my using some custom parts. They said they would put spacers in my socks and forks to make the bike lower. And to get the correct springs for my weight (165-170). They recommened not to go lower than 2 inches.

-Can you let me know if that is the way to go?
-Are these guys telling the truth or bull****ing me?
-If there is a manufacture that makes a lowering link could you let me know who?

Any advise will be good.

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
Try devol for lowering links.

http://www.devolracing.com/

You could go a cheaper route than either you suggested.

You can cut the seat foam down and recover the seat - will gain you an inch or inch and a half.

You can also cut the subframe to lower the seat height. This can be done by actually cutting piece out of the subframe and rewelding it together, or by simply elongating the bolt holes and sliding it down lower. Ricky Carmichael cuts the seat and the subframe and also raises the footpegs to accomodate his short legs.

I'd guess you could lower the seat a total of 2 inches or so - maybe even 2 and a half - and it would basically cost you nothing. Plus, both of those will not affect the handling or suspension in any way.

Yes, you can modify the suspension to make the bike sit lower. However, you will lose some suspension travel and presumably ground clearance.

I don't think the problem will seem as bad to you after you ride for awhile. I'm an inch shorter than you and manage just fine - although my subframe does appear that it may have been cut a 1/2 inch or so.