may sound weird but: KDX220R vs. DRZ400E?

Kryten

Aug 26, 2004
Hi folks - I'm new to the forum.

I've spent the last two weeks reading a LOT of posts on a number of subjects. I am really impressed with the knowledge base here and throw myself upon your mercy for your views on the following dilemna (is that enough grovelling or would you like some more? :)

I am relatively new to trail riding (and motorcycles in general) -I have been doing it for a mere four months but I'm getting steadily better and a little more confident. I currently ride a very old and somewhat dead XR200 that has seen much better days. This was a cheap way for me to get into this without losing my shirt. Bottom line is the XR200 has just about had it in many ways and so I'm looking to replace it.

My dilemna is that locally I can get a nice deal on either a used '01 DRZ400E or a new '03 KDX220R. A weird comparison perhaps but please make yourself comfortable and read on (if you're not asleep yet ;) ) .

The KDX is about $700 more than the DRZ but then it is brand new. The DRZ has had very little use so far (apparently a guy bought the DRZ then dropped it and scared himself - then his wife advised him that his future did not include dirt bikes. As a result the bike then lived in his garage for a year or two before he sold it back to the dealer which is where it is now for sale).

Here is my synopsis of pros and cons of the two bikes:

KDX220R
Pros:
Light and snappy 2 stroke
Has unusually good low-end torque for a 2str that is newbie friendly
brand new - albeit the '03 model
Cons:
Will I outgrow it?
Is it a good beginner to intermediate bike?

DRZ400E
Pros:
Very strong torque overall (400cc thumper)
US$750 cheaper than KDX200R
Electric start
Easy to ride?
Cons:Quite heavy (dry wt: 262 pounds)
it's used - KDX isn't

I'm kind of leaning towards the KDX220R as the better option but I'd be very interested to hear your views.