bocataking

Aug 30, 2005
Anyone out there ride at Metcalf motorcycle park in Santa Clara, CA? I am a newbie and was wondering if it has good, mellow, trails for a begginner to learn?

thanks!

ScottYZ250

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 24, 1999
Metcalf is not a challenging place to ride at all. When you get bored and want to take it up a notch, and see some prettier trails, try Hollister. To learn how to become a proficient hill climber, try Carnegie. Carnegie is not as pretty as Hollister, but will teach you how to ride hilly rocky terrain. When you can ride Carnegie, you can ride anywhere in NorCal.

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
Metcalf is fun, all the main trails are fairly easy, find some black diamond trails and they can be challenging.. Whereabouts are you from??

bocataking

Aug 30, 2005
I live in san francisco, but i keep my bike at a friends place in San leandro . . .somehow doesn't fit so well in my apartment.

Ed Silva

May 17, 2002
We link some black diamonds together and get a good workout. There are a couple trails there that some people don't know about. yes it's small but you can have fun and learn alot there.

Ed

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
Metcalfs a well kept secret, definately some challenging stuff.. They have a few tracks that are groomed fairly nice, considering its a county park, they have atv track in the back, that never gets used by atv's, so last time i was there, was open to bikes.. :ride:

Mar 9, 2004
Great place for a quick work out

It is a great resource for all of the families that need a good place to ride. It's only 9 minutes from our house and a bunch of the high school riders hit it after class. It is almost always ridable even the day after rain.

Post a note when you are headed this way and I'll see if we can join you and show you around some of the hidden spots (if you are ready).

bocataking

Aug 30, 2005
Thanks Old_CA