buffsabs11

Apr 2, 2006
im very new to riding, and am very ignorant about the bike and how it works. i was at a friend's house, and he asked me if there were any lube nipples on the bike. i said i didnt know, and he explaind to me how they worked on a sled, and then he said he saw one on the brake caliper. he convinced me to squirt some echo-lube into it, so we did. is this wrong? how do i fix it? how much will it cost?

John Cena

Nov 11, 2004
That nipple sounds like the bleeder screw for the brake fluid most likely Dot3 fluid. It won't hurt nothing aslong as you didn't loosen the screw first. You shouldn't be lubing it though.

TimberPig

Jan 19, 2006
A YZ 85 doesn't have any grease nipples on it. You have to disassemble the linkage and steering head to grease the bearings.

That is indeed a bleed screw for the brake fluid, not a grease nipple. Odds are you only filled the bleed screw with grease, which may attract dust, but shouldn't harm anything unless it plugs up.

It would be a good idea to learn more about bike maintenance, and carefully evaluate the source, before allowing anyone else to do anything to your bike. Many people don't know what they are talking about, which could cause damage to your bike, when they do something wrong.

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
buffsabs11 said:
im very new to riding, and am very ignorant about the bike and how it works. i was at a friend's house, and he asked me if there were any lube nipples on the bike. i said i didnt know, and he explaind to me how they worked on a sled, and then he said he saw one on the brake caliper. he convinced me to squirt some echo-lube into it, so we did. is this wrong? how do i fix it? how much will it cost?
Sounds like you friend doesn't know bikes either. At least you didn't say "hey, let's lube the brakes". Never listen to that friend's motorcycle maintenance advise again. Don't let him tell you how to fix a car either (although they do have grease fittings on the suspension components).