Yamajeb

Feb 20, 2006
Folks - I'm new to dirtrider.net. I was tempted to start this thread on the "mods" forum but upon reading Eric Gorr's sticky I decided to take a chance and start the thread in this forum. My apologies if I'm totally out of place by placing this here.

I looked for a good way to get my 8-yr old from a 50 4-stroke to a 2-stroker mxer, clutch and all, without scaring 'em to death and a used Suzuki JR80 is working rather well. He took to it really well and very quickly. It's exciting to hear him get the thing up on the pipe (I used to race an RM back in the early '80s) 'cause he's figured out that's where the power is. In fact, he seems to be lookin' for more!!! Quite a surprise, really, he seemed a little timid when he got the Honda 50 last summer.

I'm going to hold off on a RM/KX/SX-65 for a year or so to build up his confidence and skills. This bike is nice and easy through the trails in our woods but can rev up pretty nicely too. However, there's a few things I thought you might have some ideas on: