Michelle

Sponsoring Member
Oct 26, 1999
I don't know how to word this or even how to explain it properly, but hopefully it makes some semblance of sense.

This year things have changed for me and other things are looming on the horizon but until they're in sight, they'll be ignored ;)

What I have found in the past few weeks is I've changed but until yesterday, I didn't know why or if it'd last. Anyway, I'll try to explain and I'm hoping some of it will make sense to someone and help them.

When I started riding about 6 years ago, I had in my mind that one day I'd be able to keep up with Henk - this'll never happen & guess what, it doesn't matter. I guess it's been in the back of my mind for all this time, but not even recognised. I've had a lot of fun in the meantime but have also had a lot of frustration with myself.

When the guys come back from a ride, they're full of big hills, getting stuck & all the rest of it but I've always thought "huh, I wouldn't even attempt that". When they've fallen off or crashed, it's been totally irrelevant & incomprehensible. Reading ride reports here from people like Bbbom, FC22, getmetoca, Randy & Susan have been similar. Mentally I haven't been able to relate.

What I've found in the past couple of months is I've switched off to that & realised that whatever I'm facing is relevant to me. I've found a good friend to ride with sometimes & I watch her struggle with some stuff I find easy & then she gets to watch me struggle with something she's just blitzed. It's like I've been thinking everyone but me is perfect. I've realised that we all have our strengths & weaknesses, we all have our own fears & our own celebrations. It could be a stupid little hill or a stinkin' rock or whatever. I've watched guys struggle with stuff that I've blitzed & then had to put up with them helping me out of something they didn't realise could even be a problem.