Help My bike won't start - KDX 250

Theazezo221

Dec 16, 2019
first I'd like to clarify some things, I have no experience in dirt bikes but always wanted one so a couple of years ago I bought 2004 (as the seller claimed) kawasaki kdx250 I wanted to get into dirt bike and it seemed like a good bike, anyway when I got the bike it was in working condition so I went out and tried it, works great. I got it back home and a couple of days later tried to start it it won't start.
So I took it to the shop and got it fixed took a ride near the shop to check if it works it was fine they said it only needed new spark plug which the seller told me it might.
I loaded it up and took it home a week later I took it out for a ride with a friend loaded it poorly on its side (didn't know any better) and when I got there I tried to start it and it won't start. So I got back home frustrated and disappointed I left it in the back of the house and it stayed there.

Fast forward 2 years I decided to see if I can fix it so I started reading online here is what I've tried so far:
I thought it might be flooded since the gas was turned on for 2 years. So I checked the the gas in the tank still smells like gas and feels like one so I didn't change it. The oil looked new to so I topped it off. And I also changed the coolant. There is more to be done but I just want to see if I can get it to work. And it didn't.
I pulled the carb out and cleaned it the flote was stuck so I checked the needle valve and it looked good and the pilot jet was clogged so I cleaned it. Reseated the needle valve and floaters they function as they should. The I put the carb back in place (the only things connected were the air intake, engine intake, the gas tube, and the thing that comes from the throttle) . After that I tried to start it and it won't.