RoadDawg

Jul 10, 2009
I recently bought a 1998 KDZ220R. I seems to be in very good shape. It supposedly has only about a 100 hours of use.

I paid $1000.00 for it. I hope I did not get screwed. I am new to bikes. I had one years ago but it was not as kicking as this KDX.

I am going to get an owners manual soon so I can look up the below info, but I want get rockin'.

Usual questions to follow:

What 2-stroke oil should I use?

What type of coolant should I use?

etc.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

RoadDawg

glad2ride

Jul 4, 2005
32:1 is the manufacturer recommended ratio. Asking which oil to use is like asking which football team is the best. You will get many opinions.

Collant is 50% distilled water and 50% anti-freeze/coolant

Congratulations on your new bike.

NCFRC

Jul 23, 2007
Best thing to do is read the main forum threads first and that will answer most of your questions . Then search for a thread on any other questions , they've all been pretty well exhausted here. Remember that alot of responses are of personal opinion.

Good Luck ,, you've got a great bike !

sr5bidder

Oct 27, 2008
congrates and welcome where in PA are you from?

just buy the 50/50 premix and be sure to vent you left radiator (bolt on top) while refilling.

FSM says 32:1 on the oil... alot of us have settled on 40:1

I use the castrol brand 2T oil and it works great // no more or noless spooge// nomore noless power// nomore noless fouling of plugs (which never has happened any how) alot more product and ALOT less expensive than redline, motul 800, and all the rest I have tried.

there are great debates on crankcase oil

Alot of my friends and I use ford type f automatc trans fluid... no particular brand (its cheap and changed about ever 10 hrs)

NCFRC

Jul 23, 2007
I was in the oil distribution business for a few years and you get what you pay for.
Buy the best oil you can afford . If you plan on keeping the bike for years it will pay for itself many times over.