My piston came apart in my cylinder saturday!! Need advice!!

joelyles2004

Mar 5, 2004
I'm a newb at the site, and I need some advice, but I think I've got the right idea since I have some 2 stroke repair experience. The side skirt on the intake side of the piston got caught in one of the port windows (openings), and broke a quarter size chunk of it off. Some of it went into the bottom end, and some to the top of the piston. When I got home, I disassembled the bike: Plastics, seat, gas tank, head, hoses, etc, and saw the shavings on top of the piston. I sucked them out with a shop vac, and gently removed the cylinder. While doing that I slipped a rag underneath the cylinder when it was barely loose to catch any debris from further falling in the crankcase. I tried to turn the crank, and it would wiggle a little. Slowly bringing up the debris stuck to it, thanks to the oil left on it. I repeated the process until i got all I could out. Then came the time for the small pieces. I put a paper towel soaked in oil between the crank weights. Amazing! It scooped up the shavings! So every 1 turn, I replaced the paper towel with a new one and they kept coming out. When no more came out, I shined a light inside(between the weights) and saw some micro pieces. I Then took some long surgical tweezers and got the rest out. Next I blew it out with high pressure air & checked it again, nothing. I poured a little 2 stroke oil in the crank area, and spun the crank. No noise at all. It spun flawlessly. The rod is a Pro-x rod and has no play! What luck. I measured the cylinder bore with a digital mic. It was 66.4 mm. That's right at stock bore size. A magnet stuck to the sleeve, so it's steel. I'm just bore it to the next oversize, or whatever it takes to clean it up and put a wiseco piston kit with new gaskets. I also will have some one put a good trail port on it (the best I Know, which will cost $200), and I will be set. I believe the piston got hung up because I've only had the bik