My riding sucks (but it's funny to watch!)

Firegod23

Nov 26, 2000
I am an absolute beginner on a track, an am trying to learn (very painful).

I have ridden dirt bikes all my life, but never more than cruising the woods, fields, pastures, etc. I have always wished for the skills to be able to ride motocross at just a "B" level, but have never dedicated the time or gonads to improve.

After getting a new RM250 for Christmas, I decided I was giong to work at it until I, by gosh, made it happen. There is a practice track very close to my house that is available to ride, and the weather was warm enough today to start my "lessons".

By 1:30, I was on a track for the first time in my life!:)
I took it easy for a while while I was getting a feel for things, and slowly began to try to increase my lap speeds.

I remember reading some posts here that said it was much safer to learn jumping skills on table tops because they are more "forgiving" to mistakes. With this in mind, I practiced until I was doing pretty good on two of the table tops that this track had. The third table top had a single right before it, and everyone was using the single as the take off for the table top. The two jumps were so close, that this was the only way to attack the jump. For this reason, I had been bypassing this particular jump all day. I just did not feel that I was ready for it.

Well into the afternoon, it was approaching time to load up and go, so I went out one last time before we left. On my first lap I decided to give a double a try. I mean, with a "whole day" of practice, I figured that I just had to be ready to fly. I came off a corner and hit the take off ramp, and lo and behold, I actually made it. I will admit that I made it just barely, and my front tire came down first at the exact peak of the second jump! Just 1" shorter, and I would have eaten a lot of dirt.