IT1985

Oct 24, 2007
Well, here is my winter project, a 1997 Yamaha RT 180 that I purchased locally a few months ago.

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e169/sniper00006/Bikes/IMG_0163.jpg

The thing about it is, it had a bad transmission in it, it made a weird metal grinding sound in 2nd gear and ther was absolutely no 4th gear in the bike. So I bought a new transmission and threw that in, and $200 dollars later the engine is running fine and like it was brand new. But there is only one thing, its slow as heck.

Last week an envelope arrived in the mail with a set of boyesen power reeds in it, I couldnt find a reason not to order them, after all, I have never used them before. Now the bike seems like it has actually lost power after I put them in, but I suspect that I have to adjust the jetting so that it gives the bike a little more fuel. I was trying to get up small hills with it yesterday and I almost always had to shift down into 1st gear when I was doing less than 10mph.

I hear that it has the same engine as a blaster in it, and from what I can see, its pretty dang close. So, knowing that a blaster has an IT200 engine in it, I was wondering if it would be possible to make this bike as fast as an IT 200.

What I want to do is take an IT200 carb, which I have on hand, and see if I can throw it into the RT. The RT has a smaller carb than that IT does, the IT has a 42mm and the RT has like, a 25mm. So I think that this may be the reason that the bike is so weak and diferrent than the IT.
Having owned both bikes, and opening them up, I can safely say that there is a big diferrence power-wise.

The IT has a bigger boost-bottle in it, with a bigger carb too, it also has a few more CCs, but there is still a huge diferrence between the two bikes.