DarbySS

Dec 11, 2006
I recently bought my first dirtbike. It's used, and the rear sprocket looks pretty worn and I want to replace it. This is what was stamped on the sprocket.

Renthal
4620 154U
520 51T

What does all that mean? I'm assuming the 51T is 51 teeth? I want to make sure I get the right replacement. Doesnt the size of the sprocket = difference in performance? What size should I get? I'm a beginner, rec. riding only for now.

The chain said:

D.I.D.
520 ERT

Again, what does all that mean?

Thanks
Darby

BadMotoWeazal

Aug 21, 2004
DarbySS said:
I recently bought my first dirtbike. It's used, and the rear sprocket looks pretty worn and I want to replace it. This is what was stamped on the sprocket.

Renthal
4620 154U
520 51T

What does all that mean? I'm assuming the 51T is 51 teeth? I want to make sure I get the right replacement. Doesnt the size of the sprocket = difference in performance? What size should I get? I'm a beginner, rec. riding only for now.

The chain said:

D.I.D.
520 ERT

Again, what does all that mean?

Thanks
Darby

51T = 51 teeth on the rear sprocket, they make 2 kinds, Steel & Aluminum. Steel last longer but are heavy & more expensive. Aluminum is light & usually cost less but doesn't last as long as the steel. Make sure to use some thread lock on the sprocket bolts when you reassemble, losing a bolt or breaking your rear hub can be costly & hurt.
520 is a standard size of the chain itself....the length of the chain will vary from motorcycle to motorcycle & will need to be cut to size for different makes of bike. Your Honda has a stock sprocket setup of 13T front & a 51T rear.
The DID ERT chain is a motocross non-o-ring chain. I ride in the woods & use a o-ring chain. The o-ring chain takes a little horsepower away & are more expensive, but they last longer for my type of riding.