gbruno21

Jun 12, 2010
I need some help guys. I am an amatuer mechanic at best and I can't get my '88 KDX 200 running right. The rotor magnets tore loose so I purchased and installed a new rotor. I also replaced the stator (from RickyStator.com) while I was at it. The stator is correctly lined up with the timing mark on the engine.

The engine runs fine at idle. When I turn the throttle the engine stalls out. Any help would be appreciated. :bang:

geoffro

Nov 16, 2007
OK I am a qualified mechanic but difficult (as all ways), obviously to diagnose your patient over the phone....If it is idling thats a good sign for spark... My gut feel to check carb/feuling side.Opening throttle slowly/faster??... has bike been standing?
some more info on how you got to this situation can help.Was it running fine before magnets tore loose?

gbruno21

Jun 12, 2010
Quick history. Engine locked up and I did not know why. Took it to a mechanic who proceded to take the ENTIRE engine apart. Why he didn't stop after he took the rotor off I will never know. He wanted $2200 to put it back together and I said no way. I put it back together myself by looking at manuals and youtube videos. Has not run properly since.

geoffro

Nov 16, 2007
Oh my word!!....I'm sorry but due to your "mechanic" I'm a bit more lost than earlier.
ok... by rotor I take it you mean "magneto"(thats what we call it anyway),left side,going over coils? bit rusty on '88 model. Did you put the keyway in that holds rotor in place?(thin halfmoon piece of metal fitting in a slot on tapered shaft)

gbruno21

Jun 12, 2010
yes. I fit the magneto over the keyway. I have removed the magneto recently to check everything including the timing mark on the stator plate.

Since it is running fine at idle I am assuming that the stator is working correctly. My understanding is that the 2 stator coils are for ignition and the headlight. Is that correct?