Little_John

Jun 1, 2004
I don't know how, but I've stretched my chain...or so it appears. I dunno, I'm new to all this, but there's about 1/2 inch too much slack in my chain and my rear sprocket is wearing weird. I've been told I should replace both the sprocket and the chain. So, I went on-line to bike bandit and started checking out parts. Now I'm just confused...

I know rear sprocket tooth count will change the bike, so I can just go home and count the teeth in the sprocket and get one just like it. The chain is a whole different matter.

With all of the choices (630 K Chain, 420 STD Chain, 420RX3 Gold chain) how do I know what to buy? Do I really need to count ALL of the links to know which one to buy? I believe the 420, 630 etc is width, but how do I know? My bike has definitely been modified, I'm not the first owner and I don't know that it's a stock chain otherwise it'd be simple.

HELP!!!

Thanks,
Little_John
:eek:

MrLuckey

Fire Marshall Ed
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 9, 2000
On the left side of that page (near the middle) it will say:

Tire Size/Chain Size/ Sproket Size/Battery/Spark Plugs Crossreference

»Honda
»Kawasaki
»KTM
»Suzuki
»Yamaha

clicking on the make of your bike will show you a chart with the stock tire size, chain size etc.

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN
The 2000 RM 125 uses a 12/49 sprocket combination and a #520 standard chain (114 links) stock.
I would suggest going to a 13/52 sprocket set-up. You will see better chain wear and not change the ratio from what it is now. You will need a longer chain to do this. Get a #520 standard chain in 120 links and break it as needed.

Little_John

Jun 1, 2004
Jaybird said:
The 2000 RM 125 uses a 12/49 sprocket combination and a #520 standard chain (114 links) stock.