New on Dirt Rider in NC

gdavisjr69

Feb 22, 2005
All,

Found this website and thought I'd join. I'm new to dirt bike riding, in fact, I haven't actually purchased a dirt bike yet. I have several street bikes... In fact, right now I have two, a HD Dyna Lowrider (that I need to sell) and a Suzuki SV1000s.

My son, who is 9, is trying desperately to talk me into getting two dirt bikes. I'm 35 and live in Gastonia, NC. Any good places to ride in this general vincinity? Also, any people that I could join up with, particularly somebody a little patient and willing to help somebody along. I'm not really sure exactly what sort of riding I'll do. I'd like to try a little MX, but probably will end up trail riding with my son mainly.

What sort of bike should I get? I'm about 6'2", about 190lbs, so I'm a little concerned I'll "outgrow" a 250 four stroke real quick... but don't really know. Right now I can get pretty decent deals on a Suzuki DRZ250 or a Suzuki DRZ400E. Brand new bikes that have been held over from previous years... not much difference in price. What are everybody else's thoughts?

Gerry

Tony Eeds

Godspeed Tony.
N. Texas SP
Jun 9, 2002
Welcome to the site :cool:

I see where you have gone to your User CP and updated information relating to your location. We will do our best to hook you up with some fellow dirt bike enthusiasts.

Regarding your questions, check out the Southern Spodes forum for people in your general area. They will know about tracks and trails to ride.

Speaking of tracks, check out the TNT Motorsports Park website for information on and maps of how to get to the park. One of the premier parks in the the Southeast, TNT is considered by many here to be their home track.