bbike

Nov 11, 2003
hey guys, Im 16 and i have been competing in DH (downhill) mountain bike racing for 7 years now. I like all the jumps, I am confident on my dh bike doing drops ranging from 0-18 feet, i am also confident on gaps from 0-20 feet. This stuff might sound small to all of you gear heads, but you have to remember that im on a mountain bike, anyho, I am not a beginer for handling bikes. I am interested in switching fully to dirtbikes. I have ridden a 125 before (about 20 times) and felt kinda dead. The bike was a 96 rm125, the bike had no powerband at all. Since the bike was old and dead, i cannot for sure judge the 125 class. Are these things ballsy at all? or should i go with a 250. I am 5 '10 and weigh 190 pounds. What should i do, get the 125 or 250. Oh yea, I ride every day for about 3 hours so i will get good quickly and will not have the money to upgrade in 2 years. Thanks

woodsy

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Jan 16, 2002
My man, dropping off the side of mountains 18 feet and clearing 20 footers on a bicycle certainly does not "not sound like much" to this old boy!! Kiddo, you will fit right in to the dirt bike sport - GUARENTEED!! The 125's will be to small for you and your weight will not be an asset.. I have a nephew who was a "freestyler" /BMXer and he bought a KDX200. A couple weeks and he was jumping and riding wheelies like crazy. I dont think a month went buy after purchase and we had done the free mods, added a pipe to get him some more ponies.. If I were you, I wouldnt buy less then a 250!!! Once you learn throttle control you will LOVE it!! Just get GOOD equipment to (COMPLETE) compliment your riding and ENJOY the sport!!!
WELCOME TO THE SPORT!!
Woodsy

bbike

Nov 11, 2003