New Rider! What bike will fit me? 1k to spend!

Sep 25, 2009
Hello,

Well first off I am new to the forum and dirt bikes, Looking for some advice on what bike to get.

Like I stated I am new to the sport and don't really know much about bikes yet! I do Plan on learning a lot though.

I am looking to spend about 1k for my first bike or lower, Mostly been looking at Craigslist since I can't afford to purchase a new one.

I have a lot of experience in Mini bikes, Go Karts & Sport Bikes so I know how to ride a bike but I know it will be different on a dirt bike.

As far as the bike, I am wanting to get a good well known brand ( Yamaha, Honda, KTM Etc... ). Not sure what to get 2 stroke or a 4 stroke. Really 100% unsure what will fit me the best.

What do you guys think would be a good CC engine for me?

Well if you have any models that you think will suit me best please post them , I'm on craigslist everyday looking ;)

Shelby,

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important)
6'2 Tall & 190LB
2) How physical / aggressive are you ?
Medium
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with?
Dirt, Fields & Sand
4) Do you have any riding experience?
Yes
5) Do you think you will race ?
Eventually
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?
Yes
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?
Unsure what will fit me the best.
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry?
Mid America Power Sports, Carries various brands.
9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike?
$1,000 or less.
10) Do you live in California?
No
11) Your age?

Last edited:

jb_dallas

Feb 17, 2009
I second the XR, they are bulletproof.

Be sure you know what you are looking for when buying a $1000 bike...or take someone who does. You can really get screwed in that range if you dont know what you are doing. I know because I have been there.

cowasucky

Feb 23, 2009