rickwenham

Nov 2, 2005
I justed picked up a 2002 yz426f appears to be in great condition...

the guy hadn't ridden it in like 8 months and it reeked of stale gas so i drained the tank, put fresh gas in, and cleaned the jets (1 was plugged)

I fired it up and it is still backfiring outta the exhaust like crazy... The mixture screw was out 2.5 turns, so i turned it in a 1/2 turn at a time until it was only 1/4 turn out.....STILL BACKFIRING!

what do I try next?

I'm new to these hi-perf 4 strokes so any help is appreciated...thanks

B

biglou

I'm in a hurry at the moment, but "air leak" is what to look for next. Also, upside down slide (easy to do) in carb. More later if needed.

rickwenham

Nov 2, 2005
the rubber manifolds look good...i don't know where else an air leak would be...

Isn't backfiring from the exhaust caused by a rich condition?

thanks for any tips

blanc

Dec 18, 2002
I have the exact same bike which had the exact same problem you just mentioned. Get hight temp silicone sealent and seal the exhaust everywher, make sure that the bolts connecting the header to the cylinder are extra tight! Thats what my problem was after I overlooked it on numerous occasions.

rickwenham

Nov 2, 2005
i fixed part of the problem...

i found half an o-ring in the carb where their should have been a whole one...it was on a screw that also had a spring on it.

so i replaced the o-ring and put on a boyesen accelerator pump (that the sales guy said is worth it) and the bike sounds a lot better

the mixture screw is now 2.5--3 turns out and the bike sounds much better now... the only problem is a slight bog if you give the throttle a quick twist off idle.

whick direction is leaner? Srew in or screw out?

and could changing the screw's position help with the bog?

thanks

Matt90GT

May 3, 2002
2.5-3 turns means you are to rich on the pilot jet. You need to go down.