4EverOrange

~SPONSOR~
Mar 9, 2003
Just thought I would introduce myself. I am a regular poster on KTMTalk, and through that site found this one. I am excited to see so many women interested in riding.

I have been riding since 1998 off and on. I started putting around on my mil's 83 XR 200. It was good to get the basics on, but I was ready for more power quickly.

In '99 we bought a used '98 KDX 220. The KDX was head and toes more powerful than the XR, but heavy as hell. Everytime I dumped the thing, which was often, I about broke my back trying to pick it up. Not to mention, riding in the desert on that thing put me out of commission for days from the suspension. It just never felt good to ride. Too heavy, too bulky, and too soft.

I had been pushing to get a KTM since I got my KDX, but the hubby thought the power wold be too much for me. Finally, after a couple of years of me pestering, and bitchinng about the bulky feel of my KDX he finally relented. We found a good deal on a used 200 MXC, and put my KDX up for sale. The first ride out on the KTM, there was a major problem with the jetting. It was obvoious, even to me, that something was wrong. Rick at Gresham KTM, put a #7 slide in it, and it was supposedly ready to go.

Our next trip out was to the Trask mountain in Oregon. The slide didn't fix the problem. The bike wouldn't idle, at all. I stalled the thing at least 5x's going up a hill that I powered up on my KDX. By the end of the day I was totally frustrated, the bike was dead (meaning wouldn't start), I was done with riding for good, and Mark decided I wasn't good enough with the clutch to ever ride a 2 stroke again.