Doug2087

Oct 29, 2010
Hi. Im new here. Just picked up a 2004 KDX220. The KIPS valve is not functional because it is missing a few parts (previous owner took it apart and lost some of the parts). I have been riding the bike around since I bought it and it runs great. Will it do any harm to run the bike without the KIPS valve working? I am pretty new to 2 strokes and am trying to learn about the power valve system. I plan to find out which parts i need and fix the KIPS valve when I have time. Im happy with the performance of the bike right now (it rips!) but what will I gain with the KIPS valve working? Thanks for any input. Trying to learn!

reepicheep

Apr 3, 2009
The big risk is that he didn't "lose a few parts" as in loose them in the garage, but rather sheared off some stupid little pin and lost it down in the crank case...

It would be interesting to do a blind test sometime... do 5 runs with somebody connecting and disconnecting my kips randomly, and see if I could tell. Bet I couldn't, except maybe by listening to the rattling to see if it stops. :)

And you can lock it in position as well... pick if you want the low end boost or the high end boost based on your preferences, and lock it there. I bet most people could do without the low end boost just fine... if they could even notice the difference.

adam728

Aug 16, 2004
reepicheep said:
I bet most people could do without the low end boost just fine... if they could even notice the difference.

The main kips valve on my 220 split and wedged itself in the full-open position. You can tell. You can REALLY tell. The difference in low end power is HUGE. I then got it pushed down and finished the ride with the powervalve closed, and again, huge difference in power, the bike just fell flat on it's face probably between 6000-7000 rpm. It was like I lost 10 hp up top.

To the original poster -