Novice question about removing grips

MDA

May 27, 2002
Hello everyone in KDX land.

I recently bought a pair of aluminum reinforced bark busters to releive the strain on my levers from my constant falling off the bike and bouncing off trees. I still have the stock bars (yes I know they are crap and even gravity tends to bend them down). I am in the process of buying my wife a bike and gear, so to save money they will have to do for now. I'd rather share my passion for this sprot with my wife than have a set of Renthals, I'm just funny that way.

I know I have to cut a half inch off the end of the bars to get the welded washer/plug out of the bars before I can install the guards. What has me stumped (and this is how you can tell I am a novice at this) is how to remove the grips without damaging anything. I can see how on the clutch side a bit of heat applied to the grip might help things along, but what about the throttle side? How do you remove the throttle assembly? Does it just slide off? Does it need heat to remove any glue or anything?

When removing grips, can you re-use them? Should I just run out and get a new set of grips before starting this? Any help you can give me specific to removeing grips/throttle assembly would be greatly, greatly appreciated since I am thinking of riding in my first hare scramble this coming weekend and I do not like the idea of a DNF because of something preventable like a broken lever.

Thanks in advance....

-Mark-

wibby

Mod Ban
Mar 15, 2003
The throttle side is easy just unbolt it and it slides right off.
On the clutch side, any kinda lube like WD-40 or dish soap oughta do the trick.

Smit-Dog

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 28, 2001