Midhigh

~SPONSOR~
Jul 19, 2002
I am new to the dirt rider forums. I have been around bikes as a kid. My son and I are getting into dirt bikes and riding together. My question is on the subject of o ring chains. I ride a 1996 KDX 200. What cleans o ring chains outside of gasoline? And what lube is good? All I have found is stuff (that I prefer to leave nameless) leave built up of dirt and a hard grease like substance. I want to take care of this bike and I need help and imput! :confused:

Robcolo

Jan 28, 2002
GASOLINE will very likely ruin the o-rings. I'd use something like "Gunk" or your local auto store's own & much cheaper in house brand. Spray it on, leave it on for 15 min then scrub both sides of the chain with a tooth brush & hot soapy water. I blow mine dry with the air hose & oil it [unless I'm going to ride in sand]

thermal

Sep 25, 2001
I use o-ring chain and do the following with the chain on the bike:

Wash chain with garden hose with spray nozzle........
Scrub chain with nylon brush.....
Wash chain again with hose......
Let dry.......
Spray with chain oil made for o-ring chain.

uoof1

Mar 25, 2002
WD 40 will ruin some orings. Compressed air can push water or dirt past the orings. DID chain recomends kerosene for cleaning thiers. Get on your manufacturers web site and see what they say. The lube on an oring chain is just for rust prevention as the lube is sealed in by the orings. Probably more oring chains ruined by "maintenance" than by use. Kevin

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
Triflow teflon spray. It's clean, not sticky. My last o-ring chain lasted for over 2 years.

'Lasted' defined as:

1. Riding most every weekend.
2. Adjusted it once.

Teflon helps keep crud from sticking to it, too. Usually doesn't have any junk ON it after a ride.

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN