keefbikes

Apr 16, 2007
I am changing the oil and Coolent in my 95 KTM 440 2 stroke. I am not sure what to use to replace the fluids. Is there a better coolent to use? What type of oil is best for the trany? I have never done this before so I am not even sure where to drain and where to fill, Can anyone walk me through it?

rjardo

May 21, 2007
The drain will be somewhere near the bottom, and the fill areas are generally at the top...
No, seriously, a few things to think about. go to a cycle shop and have them set you up with the right fluids. car motor oil is not good for your clutch, and I wouldn't even want to guess on coolant. you don't want to corrode your innards :)

Last thing, stop and think about taking out your oil plug. If you have to, get under the bike to visualize lefty-loosey... had a buddy with a breaker bar and pipe on his KDX oil plug, finally pulled the threads right out of the case.. Damn, this sucker is in here tight, he was saying. Had his dad holding the bike cause he kept rotating it off his workstand. Just stop and think before you start to use deadly force. :^)

Surfrider

Apr 9, 2007
on the ktm, the trannys like 15w50. like rjardo said... drain bolt on the bottom, fill should be on the clutch cover.....as far as coolant, the best i have used is honda hp motorcycle anti freeze. Dont use regular ethelyne glycol for cars it will eat at your water pump, the honda is the best stuff and is much better than the other crap out there

Surfrider

Apr 9, 2007
indy, if you notice in your manuals for the tranny API oil service rating it should be SG or SJ to meet motorcycle needs of heat and wet clutch. if you have car oil rated this way you will have no problems, but as far as i know you arent going to get the proper protection in your tranny using car oil

keefbikes

Apr 16, 2007
Surfrider said:
on the ktm, the trannys like 15w50. like rjardo said... drain bolt on the bottom, fill should be on the clutch cover.....