Ok, Just traded for a 94 KLX 650... questions?

sodflyer

Jun 30, 2004
Is this a good bike? I am new to thumpers and have a 04 YZ 250 so... I had an old Yamaha FZ700 and my neighbor wanted to trade so I did.... I did not ride the bike that much plus it needed mostly all new plastic so I went for it. I had never looked at the dual bikes before but as I own it now has anyone have any advice for me on the in's and out's of it? it has 15,000.00 miles on it, in pretty good shape too.... seems to run real strong but kinda... acts like it needs a tune up. so what do I do here? no manual and very little info on the net.... the only upgrade I see is the FMF pipe that he installed. I changed the oil lastnight and after less than 2 miles riding afterwards the oil is pitch black again..... anyway let me know! Thanks Jeff.

Last edited:

rosscopeeko

Feb 25, 2005
I would do the standard basics like clean your air filter, adjust the chain, change the oil, etc. If the oil is dark again right after the change i would change it out right away with some Chevron Delo 15w40 or Rotella oil which is high detergent HDEO (heavy duty engine oil) and then run that for a week or so and change it again to clean it out. I don't know anything about those bikes, but a guy i work with just bought an 06 for street use and backroad use and just loves the thing. Good luck getting it all sorted out.

BIKEMAN111

Mar 19, 2001
klx650