Yogurt

~SPONSOR~
Dec 25, 1999
Well I got my EMT-Basic about a year ago through a local community college. I am a Nationally Registered EMT (NREMT), after that I took an EMS Interventions course at the same school. Along the way I have been taking generals to get my 2 year A.A.S. degree along with Paramedic certified. Now this semester I have started my Paramedic training. It just started on Monday the 13th. I have class Mon-Fri 7:45-2:15, on strictly just paramedic learning. The classroom portion will be about 840 hours and last about 8 months. That means I'll have no usual summer break, I'll still be a full-time student through summer, 'til sometime in August. Then after the classroom portion I have to fullfill over 600 hours of clinicals and ride-alongs, and check back periodically with my instructor to grade progress. The paramedic program alone full-time is about 14 months. So if all goes accordingly I should be a full-fledged NREMT-Paramedic by the time I turn 21 in 2005. It's a very exciting time for me, with lots of studying and testing. My goal is to get involved in the local Fire Dept, and become a full-time Fire/Medic. Maybe oneday I can do stand-bys at MX races and practices. My ultimate goal is when I finish my Paramedic school is to send my resume to the Astrics Mobile Medic team that follows our beloved sport.
So I'm wondering if we have others involved in the Emergency Medical Systems (EMS) here in DRN? I know we have some EMT-basics, are there any Paramedics or Fire Fighters? It's a very honorable and not always glorious profession, and definitely not the top of the pay scale. But a very import role in any community. I'm glad to be apart of it. Wish me luck, and if you see me spending too much time on here, tell me to hit the books! :)

srellis

LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 25, 2002