tgregg

Oct 3, 2009
I've been shopping for parts for my 1986 KDX 200 and I'm finding a HUGE difference between my local dealer and some online parts suppliers. Even with freight I'm finding some big savings. We have an 8.75% sales tax here also so buying out of state offsets the shipping. It isn't like my dealer has the parts on the shelf, he orders them so I have to drive an hour round trip to order them and then again to pick them up. I'm big on shopping locally but this is crazy. Paying 35% more and all the driving, they won't even take phone orders at the dealer! What have you found helpful and who has the best deals out there?
Gregg

sr5bidder

Oct 27, 2008
tgregg,

please be aware that you can order parts and the order will go through, then several weeks later you could get a call or message that the parts are no longer availible.
The dealer normally can tell you the next day if they are no longer availible. It's a crap shoot..

But good luck with your old project.

griffkdx

Sep 3, 2009
You might try the cheapcycleparts website. If you see anything you want, call them and ask for Steve. He will probably reduce the prices that you see on their website. At least he did for me. They seem to have good prices on everything except tires.

mudpack

Nov 13, 2008
As an employee of an established brick-and-mortar motorcycle dealer, I can tell you that your friendly local dealer has a lot more overhead than an online dealer who may be operating out of his home garage.
But, that dealer will also be there if you need something that afternoon, and will have hands-on advice on installing the parts he sells. He'll take back the part and exchange it for another if you need. He'll also listen politely while you regale him with your riding exploits and superhuman prowess. Try that on your computer.
(PS we will take phone orders, and allow you to pay for the parts when they arrive...unlike the online sellers)

tgregg

Oct 3, 2009