Pickin' up my 04 KDX 220R this Saturday! :)

JKPinPDX

Sep 29, 2003
OK, I did it! My life long dream of owning a KDX is now finally going to happen! I am a "too busy" kinda guy, I travel alot for a living doing sales training, and I have now finally had it! I WANT MY KDX! So I am getting it this Saturday (along with a new trailer to pull it in!) I bought my wife a New 04 Yamaha TW 200 (she has never ridden a motorcycle before, just 3 wheelers) so it should be easy for her to learn.

MY QUESTION IS...

What should be the first things I do to a NEW 2004 KDX 220R to get it ready to ride. I am an advanced rider (not a racer type though) but that was over 15 years ago! I have ridden since but not owned my OWN bike... until now.

Also what is the major changes of the 04 compaired to an 03?

I cant find any reviews or shoot-outs with the new 04 KDX 220R's

Any and all advice is appreciated!

Thanks for all the wonderful info!

JKP!

fatty_k

~SPONSOR~
Jul 3, 2001
No changes at all from the 03 to the 04, infact they havn't changed the 220 since it first came out in 97! If you want to find a shoot out on the 04 KDX, you might try also looking for a shoot out with any 220, because they are all the same, save for color and graphics. Have fun!

nectar

Sep 11, 2002
I would suggest you greese the rear linkage and swingarm bearings cause they come pretty dry from the factory. I had the fmf gnarly tourq. but recently put on the rev/desert to go along with tcII silencer, and it works really good. The only other thing I've done with my 220 is a rad valve and revale of the suspension. As far as jetting I've just dropped main one size and it's Ok, alittle rich but no plug fouling. I use golden spectro 50:1, but use what you like or are familar with.