_j0kA_

Jan 29, 2002
Its my first time posting here, so im not sure how this place works yet :D.. But anyway, I posted all of this stuff over at supercross.com awhile ago, and now I am just copying and pasting the questions that I want repeated, so it might not make much sense, but you will get the general idea.. here goes

I also have a 2001 RM 125 if you want to cut to the chase and not read all of those posts..

Post #1:

Hey, im in the market for a new pipe and silencer.. What would you reccomend? I like power.. I have never ridden a 125 with an aftermarket pipe, so I basically have nothing to compare my style to ( bottom end rider, top end, etc.. im not sure exactly what suits my needs ).. I need advice from other riders on what would be my worthwhile buying.. A pipe costs a good 300-400 dollars here, so I dont want to blow it..

I was thinking a Bill's combo, or maybe a PC pipe + silencer.. Is there a power/durability difference between the works and plated version of there pipe? What about the silencers.. What does the 304 shorty do? What about the Factory 304 Sound Silencer?

I want the best overall power increase, and durability.. Any help is welcome :) ** This is my first pipe and silencer, so basically I dont know anything about them.. All tips for keeping the pipe in good condition, and which kind of pipe ( chrome, non-chrome ) etc.. is definately needed. )

Thanks a lot..

( I have a 2001 RM 125.. If someone else has the same bike, and an aftermarket pipe/silencer could you please tell me if your combo is good or not.. thanks )

Reply After Getting Tips From Others:

- A friend told me to shave the head, and to port / polish my cylinder instead of doing all the pipe and reed/rad mods.. He said that it could give as much as a 10HP increase depending on who did it ( He suggested Eric Gorr ), and that it only costs around $350 ( canadian I would believe ).. Is this good advice?