jdon88

Apr 23, 2004
I'm rebuilding a '98 RM250 and think I might have a problem with Piston to Cylinder clearance. I had the Cylinder replated and honed by US Chrome, I sent my new Wiseco piston so they could hone it to the correct clearance. The piston box says Clearance: .0015 in. I measured ring gap at .008 and .009 in. which might be a little tight, Wiseco says .004 in for each inch of diameter (.004 X 2.61 = .010). After installing the cylinder and rotating the crank it feels smooth but I can hear a noise that sounds like the piston is making slight contact with the cylinder. I hear the sound as the piston gets close to the top of the stroke. It kind of sounds like a file on metal, I think the skirt is contacting the cylinder. I tried measuring the clearance with an outside micrometer and a telescoping gauge but I'm not too good at it, I keep getting different readings. This isn't my first rebuild but I'm no expert either. I don't remember hearing any noises like this before. This Wiseco piston has some small grooves or ridges going around the piston and I think that when the skirt makes contact I hear the filing noise. I don't remember pistons I've used on other bikes having these grooves, I think they were smooth. I took the cylinder off, cleaned and relubed everything then put it back on but get the same noise. Now what? Any ideas? Could this possibly be normal?

ohmthis

Jan 31, 2008
Did you lube up the piston and ring when you installed it. I'm going to guess no, that noise is the ring being "Filed" by the cross hatch that's on the cylinder. That is what it is supposed to happen. If you have any concerns take the piston and cylinder to a machine shop and have them measure it. Maybe they will show you the correct way to measure with the telescoping gauges. here's a link for some help with those gauges. guide for telescoping gauges The grooves on the piston are from the machining process by wiseco.

Last edited:

jdon88

Apr 23, 2004