Elkaholic11

Jun 16, 2006
I just got a 1991 yz250, it's my first bike! I new it had problems when I got it but I figured I could learn by fixing it. I have recently rebuilt the top end, I got the cylinder bored .20 over and replaced the powervalve and all the seals and gaskets. Now that I got it back together all I can do is get it to idle for maybe a minute or so. After it dies there is oil all over the control arm spitting from the exhaust. Does anyone know what the problem is and how to fix it? Thanks for the help.

John Cena

Nov 11, 2004
Does it have a clean air filter?

What jets are in the carb?

Have you checked the crankseals? If the crank seals are gone you might be able to tell by taking off the startor cover, see if theres any gas/oil in there.

Elkaholic11

Jun 16, 2006
The air filter is a brand new presoaked filter, I'm not sure what jets even are in the carb, Im new to this. I took the starter cover off and there is no oil or gas in there,

dc1130

Jun 20, 2006
need more info whats your comp. how long has it been sitting could be crap gas in the carb, wrong jetting, air leak (crank seals),

ls1cameric

Feb 23, 2006
dc1130 said:
need more info whats your comp. how long has it been sitting could be crap gas in the carb, wrong jetting, air leak (crank seals),

My buddy bought a older YZ250 last week and it ran like crap for 30 seconds and died. Took us an hour to get it started again and this time it ran 4 5 minutes. (This was before he bought it). We got it home and it wouldnt start for anything. we put new gas in it and noticed that it was pouring strait out of the carb drain tube when we turned the gas on. took the carb off because I was thinking the float was stuck. put it back on and wasnt leaking but wouldnt start either. Carb off again and this time we cleaned it w/ carb cleaner. Put it back on, primed the cylender and fired right up.