youngnbald

Oct 13, 2008
I am new to the dirt bikes and getting myself set up with the protective gear. Today was the first time I wore the MX boots that I bought and found I can't shift gears like I could with steel toe boots. If I sit way forward on the seat, then my foot angle will go under the shift and I can hit the gears. Is that where I am suppose to sit? I am way forward on the handle bars then!

Do the boots "break in" and I will get more angle out of them with time or do I have to re-adjust the shift lever up so my foot can go under it better? The boots are the Moose MX. I like how they fit and are very comfortable.

Please let me know your experience with MX boots. My next buy will be a body armor vest. Any suggestions there?

Thanks

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA
You will need to readjust the shift lever so your boot fits under it. It's on a spline shaft so try moving it 1 spline at a time until you like it. There is no hard and fast rule but you want to avoid pointing you toe down so it doesn't catch on a rock or root.

ToddHawaii

Apr 3, 2000
Ditto - with RM_Guy. I ride primarily woods, and stand up a lot, so I simply moved my shifter upwards a tad. Take some time the next time you go riding, and experiment a little, at the same time adjusting the pitch/angle of your handlebars.

There are like fifty billion chest protector options out there now, and they all pretty much fit nicely, and work. Since I'm a personal trainer, I have to search for brands that fit larger/built guys. I had to buy the SIDI boots with the calf adjustments...and I chose ACERBIS for my chest protector since it covered more easily my massive chest! :nod:

Anyway, take your time - and welcome to dirtbikes!

youngnbald

Oct 13, 2008