jimt_yz400

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 25, 2000
Hello,

It's been a while since I posted anything but I have a strange problem with some Showa forks.
I'm not a novice at suspension service, but neither am I an expert so I feel that I know how to bleed the cartridge, but this doesn't seem to be a cartridge bleeding problem.
What is happening is similar to what folks describe as not having bled the cartridge prior to installing the compression assembly. But this isn't an air in the cartridge problem. After bleeding the ari out of the cartridge and I install the compression assembly then compress the cartridge rod a few inches (like 4), it should come immediately back to being fully extended, but instead it pukes out oil out of the two bleed holes out of the top of the cartridge assembly. Inspecting the rod shows not oil on it, therefore I feel that the lower cartridge seal is ok. If I continue to push on the rod, most of the oil from the internal chamber will be displaced out of the bleed holes.
I have had this happen to a number of forks with a reasonable amount of time on them, just recently mind you, and having replaced the lower cartridge seal did not fix this problem.
The only way of fixing this was to use another compression assembly from another bike. Then it worked like it should, only a small amount of oil being displaced once you install the compression assy (depends on how much you fill the cartridge of course). Once I did this the rod would return to it's full length when compressed.
So, my question, can you buy the seal in the compression assy that is inside the bushing assy or is the only fix buying a new entire compression assy?