Question-Who has insurance on their bike?

JasonRan

Jun 6, 2005
This may seem a little off topic, but I am interested to know who all has insurance on their dirtbikes. I have run across a lot of people with different opinions on this. I am an insurance agent for one of the "big name" companies. My agency can also write Progressive Insurance, which seems to be, by far, the best and cheapest insurance out there for dirtbikes. My 2000 KDX only costs $92/year to insure and that is with $100 deductibles, and the highest liability coverages you can get. I am considering marketing to the local riders, not because I make any money off it (commission on $92 is not much), but because it really is important to insure your dirtbike. So my original question, who has their bike insured and for what reasons? Thanks!

tyesai

Nov 4, 2004
I have my bike insured, I think it is only 10 or 12 bucks a month for full coverage. I didn't think such a thing was possible but if you can finance it you can insure it apparently. They did ask me if I wanted road side assistance on it though. That was when I asked them if they knew it was a "dirt bike". Yeah go ahead give me that. I am out of gas just over the creek, past the big rock right next to the tree that splits 50 feet up the middle. Oh yeah, I need a gallon of 93 octane mixed with bell ray MC-1 40:1. Thanks a bunch. Now when can you be here?

KTM Mike

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Apr 9, 2001
I insure my KTM as it is licensed - bare minimum coverage needed to be legal. My son's KDX is not insured - but if i were to license it would do same. I priced Progressive - came in WAY more than Bikeline.com pricing. (I think i got it for around $50 every 6 months)

Did not price any collision or comprehensive/theft type coverage though. Guess I am taking my chances there!

Green Hornet

Apr 2, 2005
Progressive-$75 for the year.
2005 KDX220R, Insured and registered as a MC not ATV in NY