Solace64

Aug 1, 2010
Okay, my first post guys. Let me preface it with I'm new to dirt-bikes. I've been riding street for a long time and decided to take my first foray into dirt-bikes with an RM 250.

I live in Barto, PA which is near Boyertown and Pottstown, about an hour outside of Philadelphia. A friend of mine and I are looking for a place to ride near us and haven't been having much luck.

I've heard some things about RAC, but hesitate only because I have no idea where to park, or where any newbie friendly riding areas are.

Can anyone chime in and give me some advice?

Thanks, Vince.

53fireman

Apr 2, 2009
check out http://www.readinganthracite.com/access-permits/ and get a permit if you want to ride there.
You live near 2 of us who ride kinda frequently, so it wouldn't be an issue to meet up and show you one of the parking areas.
We mostly ride single-track, which is the equivalent of riding deer trails at a pretty fast pace. You can ride the big roads/trails and play areas to get used to your bike, or you can jump right into the single track like I did and fared pretty well...

Solace64

Aug 1, 2010
Yeah I looked into the permits and plan on getting one. Does anyone have GPS coordinates for any of the parking areas?

Thanks for the reply,

Vince

JasonJ

Jun 15, 2001
40.7274,-76.178945

Parking is on the south side of Burma rd, right off the road on the coal silt.

I'm in Sassamansville, takes me about 1.5 hours to get up there, 73 to 61.

Solace64

Aug 1, 2010
Thanks for the the directions. Im actually right around the corner from you, right near where Green Hill Rd and Hoffman Rd come together.

CRFGuy

Aug 5, 2005
That is when he decides to come out and play... Been a bit of a woose this season. Oh it's too hot. It's too humid. My tires... Get it.

JasonJ

Jun 15, 2001