ononewheel

Nov 4, 2003
I am about to get a rm125 o1 model, that I would love to ride 3-4 times a week for 1-2 hours.

i am a student so I can't afford renewing the top end like every 20 hours.

In your experience riding a bike this amount per week how long does the top end usually last.

A year would be perfect, as the new season for me starts in feb, and I would love to get in loads of practice before and after then.

Thanks

2-Strokes 4-ever

~SPONSOR~
Feb 9, 2005
Missouri
I rode/raced a 125 in the woods for years. I found that for my type of riding, the factory's specs. of "top end every 20 hrs." was overkill. However, doing top ends SO OFTEN was what led me to go 250. Based on my experience, with a 32:1 ratio, and a clean air filter... I would go 30 hrs. and do ring...then piston after another 30. This was about the life expectancy for my often low rpm riding. Check out the clutch plates regularly too.

i_955

Dec 18, 2004
If your buying a used bike buy a base, head and reed gasket set and a “manual for sure"... Take all the measurements in the top-end section of the manual.

You might have to replace the piston & rings immediately, then it completely depends on how meticulous you are on your air filters, how soon you have to do it again.

Half way through a year, buy another gasket set, crack it open and measure/inspect for damage, and at that point clean your air filter again hehehe...

Spine_Thrust

Oct 3, 2003
I have over a 100 hours on my 250. I'm not really sure how many but have never replaced the rings or piston and I did a compression test the other day and got 250 PSI with no leakage. Get a late model Yamaha YZ250 if you can, they are unbelievable.

I don't know how much it started with but I know it hasn't lost much. :)

WillyM

May 18, 2004
If you run good synthetic oil ,and never let your air filter stay dirty you can get 60 hours out of them.