Rockytop20

Jul 23, 2009
I am new to all of this and I recently bought a 1997 kx250 from a guy. The top end is off ready to be send of to be re-plated. I have looked down into the crankshaft and can see some kind of metal shavings. I really though I would try to avoid splitting the case by trying to flush out the shavings (probably not the best idea, I know). I noticed that the lower rod bearing looks to be messed up on one side, which I think could be some of the metal that ruined the cylinder in the first place.? So it looks like I will be splitting the case. My question is would it be cheaper to buy the tools to remove the flywheel,split the case and remove the crankshaft or take the motor and have the dealer use the tools for me? Thanks for any advice you can give.

fatboyslim

Apr 11, 2006
Way cheaper if you buy the tool but if you can't get a hold of the fly wheel puller then get you and 2 other friends with long screw drivers wrapped in soft material as to not damage the flywheel and brace them behind the fly wheel and at the same time pry it off keeping the pressure even and careful not to damage your stator.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
fatboyslim said:
Way cheaper if you buy the tool but if you can't get a hold of the fly wheel puller then get you and 2 other friends with long screw drivers wrapped in soft material as to not damage the flywheel and brace them behind the fly wheel and at the same time pry it off keeping the pressure even and careful not to damage your stator.
Here I was under the idea that using a 3 jaw puller to attempt rotor removal was a really bad move! The rotor removal tool is cheap, under 20 dollars and most shops carry them. Splitting the cases ideally, needs a case splitter, 3 digit expensive, but you can modify a car harmonic balancer puller, cheap.

Rockytop20

Jul 23, 2009