motomc1

Nov 30, 2010
Howdy Folks! New to dirt here in Texas. I've been riding street for many years. Sport bikes primarily.

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important)- 5'6" 30 inseam 170 lbs
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? 45 yoa and will ride fairly aggressively
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ????? trail and motocross
4) Do you have any riding experience? currently have and ride 3 sport bikes
5) Do you think you will race ? no
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work? yes
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)? 2 or 4 stroke is fine kaw, suz, yam or Honda
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry? plenty of dealers and brands
9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike? 2-4k used
10) Do you live in California? no
11) Your age? 45
12) anything else that you think would help form an opinion- I'm lookin for a lower seat height 36'-37' ok. Under 240 curb weight and capable of jumping. Nothing serious. low end torque and preferrably watercooled. I'm open to ideas.

Maybe a kx250f?

Thanks folks

Last edited:

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
Where do you see the primary portion of your riding? Lot's of track with the occasional trail or primarily trail with the odd excursion to the track?

Chili

Apr 9, 2002
Pretty much any 250 4 stroke MX'er will fill the bill. With the budget you list you'll be buying used so that presents one large caveat in that buying a used 4 stroke MX race bike is a crap shoot fraught with potential for big repair bills on a poorly maintained bike.

These bikes aren't like your sport bike, they need constant and properly done maintenance to survive a horrible death.

motomc1

Nov 30, 2010
Thanks. I actually just picked up a...