Rejetting

AZrider

Dec 23, 2002
Hey all, im pretty new to dirt bikes and ive heard a lot about the value of rejetting you carbeurator when you ride in different conditions. Ive heard that you can regain loss horsepower and torque by just adjusting pins and needles. My dad on the other hand is kind of skeptical about the jetting routine- buying jetting kits and having the hassel of picking a right combination of needles. I have an ATV and I live in Arizona, we ride a lot at my granparents house in NM which has a much higher elevation and different climate than down here in the valley...I guess I'm trying to ask u guys to explain the benefits of rejetting my ATV and regaining some of that lost horsepower. Any replies are appreciated. Thnx a lot guys-Kyle

atc3434`

~SPONSOR~
Nov 1, 2001
Ok... I'll bite ;) Basically, when conditions changes, such as temperature, altitude, and humidity, the density of the air changes, and this therefore alters how much fuel needs to be mixed with the air to create maximum power. A lot of machines will run "ok" in most conditions without jetting changes... but if you want to search for maximum power in all conditions, you need to spend some time jetting. In a high altitiude situation, where the air density is low, you jetting is going to be signifigantly richer than when your at lower altitudes. First of all, its not possible to make as much power at much higher altitudes than it is down near sea level, there just isn't as much air to burn. But you can make the best of what air you have by getting the jetting spot on. Changing your jetting should have a pretty pronouced effect on the power of your machine. To learn some more, here is a link to Eric Gorr's guide on jetting. Check out this whole site, lots of good resources. http://www.ericgorr.com/twostktech/carbtuning.html Have fun, and good luck.

atc3434`

~SPONSOR~
Nov 1, 2001