trailqueen

Dec 30, 2006
I'm not a trials rider, but Ryan Youngs new training DVD was suppossed to help trail riders somewhat. I won't say it didn't, but it retails for $49.99 so I don't think it was worth the money for me.

For you trials guys and gals I think it will be a good investment especially if you're a beginner or novice. He covers the basics of balance, bike setup, wheelies and bunny hops and goes all the way through splatters, stoppies, and Jap Zaps. He explains everything well as he goes along.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Why do you think it didn't help much? Are you a very skilled rider and think it's newbie stuff or???

trailqueen

Dec 30, 2006
Why do you think it didn't help much? Are you a very skilled rider and think it's newbie stuff or???
No, not at all. I'm a novice trailrider and I got some good tips and ideas to prctice, but a trailrider would be better off spending his/her money on a motocross training DVD like Gary Semics or Jeremy McGrath, etc. I didn't say it wasn't an excellent DVD, but it's geared for triials riders and the $50.00 price tag is pretty steep.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
I'm just curious because I picked up trials after years of off-road riding and I learned A LOT from the video.

Perhaps this will help you as it did me To ride fast, first learn to go slow.

It was for sure my problem and I'm certian it applies to MANY racers and riders. Relying on speed and force often is not the fastest and most efficient way to ride yet the majority do just that. A perfect example is the past two LMS (Last Man Standing) events. David Knight has dominated them and if you watch it on TV or video his skills are very deeply rooted in trials riding.

Practice the little stuff shown in the video and I bet you will change your mind in time.

trial_07

Play with gravity
~SPONSOR~
Apr 26, 2004