S-7 nozzle creating lean condition?

parkerCR

Nov 8, 2001
A year ago when my '01 CR250 was close to stock I changed out the S-9 nozzle for the S-7 nozzle and it helped the low end jetting great. I also leaned the pilot to a 27.5 Now I have:
V-force
FMF Fatty Exhaust
Boyesen Power valve Cover
FMF Turbine Core 2 Silencer

FMF recommended one clip leaner on the stock slide, a 30 pilot, 400 main and 2 turns out on the AS.
These specs are in So Cal at 70 degrees with 0% humidity.

I am riding close to sea level, with a high percentage of humidity
and it is about 55-65 degrees. I am currently running:

410 Main
S-7 nozzle
30 pilot
1 3/4 turns out on the AS
Stock setting for needle clip position (3rd)

I am no expert at carb tuning but when I pulled out my plug to get a reading today, all day it was white, then after slow trails it was black. When I was able to hit more open areas and clean it out for a while in 3rd gear it would be white. Sometimes half-white, half-black.

this is really strange I am wondering if I need to go back to the stock S-9 nozzle and it will help get things back closer to a healthier range.

I know this question has been asked but I am curious to know any thoughts that might make things a little easier.

Thanks

motometal

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Sep 3, 2001
sounds like you are on the right track. I don't have a lot of faith in plug readings.

You can tell a lot about how a bike is jetted by just twistin the throttle to different openings in nuetral. If it sounds like it's just revving to the moon then let off-it's probably lean at that throttle opening. If it revs up part way and then just blubbers, too rich. You get the idea.

parkerCR

Nov 8, 2001
Thanks motometal! I am getting some blue smoke out the silencer when I rev the motor, doesn't this indicate a rich condition?

motometal

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Sep 3, 2001
not always. the amount of smoke can vary depending on several factors.