TrackMaster

Mar 15, 2001
Ok well i have been told to seat bounce jumps for more distance/height. And as i understand you sit on the seat to compress (preload) the shock on the face of the jump, causing it to rebound and send you flying through the air.

I attempted to preload a tabletop at my local track, after not clearing it time after time (its right out of a corner) I watched my friend do it and it looks like it worked for him, but when i sat on the face and i went into the air, it threw me into a standing position (as i was expecting) but i instead went lower and the same distance. I was on the pipe about 3/4 throttle on my yz125. Do i need to keep it pinned to seat bounce or am i not doing it properly??

Jeff Gilbert

N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 20, 2000
I'm not that experienced at it but the times I've done it I've had good luck. I've always stayed seated and accelerated pretty hard up the face and just before or right as I left the face I brought my butt off the seat. Typically I end up having to lean way over the bars to get the front down, I'n not too good at tapping the rear brake.

limitless

subscribed
~SPONSOR~
Aug 11, 2002
It is my understanding that you don't HAVE to sit to get the same effect.... Have you ever done a 'bunny hop' on a BMX bike? if so you know the type of thing I'm talking about.
I'll try to explain.

Jump on the pegs to preload the susp. (you don't want your feet to leave the pegs, just bounce kinda) and at the face/during lift off pull up and forward on the bars.

JTT

~SPONSOR~
Aug 25, 2000